lentil cakes with poached eggs

Image

First off, I wanted to apologize for my slight hiatus. My computer decided it wanted to stop working and I had to turn it into the apple store for repair! Although I will not be posting every single day, I will try my best to post four to five times a week! Any ways, onto this great recipe!

If you’re anything like me, you have enough leftovers to feed an army when you decide to cook. I’ve tried learning to cook smaller amounts and cut recipes in half, but it just never works out. So more recently, I’ve been trying to find recipes that utilize some of the types of leftovers that I always have around. This recipe, which I slightly modified from Cannelle et Vanille, I was able to use some leftover lentils from a potato salad recipe that I will be posting at some point this week! That being said, you can definitely make this recipe with fresh lentils.

Also, a lot of people are very intimidated with poached eggs. They’re a lot easier than they seem- I promise! If you’re really uncertain about cooking them in the traditional sense, there are pans and other gadgets designed to make poaching eggs really simple! Now, on to the recipe!

Ingredients

3/4 cup lentils, rinsed and drained
1 tsp fine sea salt, plus more for the eggs
6 eggs (4 are to poach)
1/3 cup breadcrumbs (the original recipe called for panko, I did a mix of half whole wheat traditional breadcrumbs, and half panko)
1 medium green onion, sliced into thin pieces
3 tablespoons finely chopped herbs (I used fresh thyme, plus my lentils had already been cooked with a few other herbs, but you can use your favorites!)
1 ounce of finely grated parmesan
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
3 tablespoons of olive oil, plus more if needed
2 tablespoons vinegar

Instructions

If you are using fresh lentils, bring 2 cups of water to a boil, season with salt, and cook the lentils for about 15 minutes so they are cooked, but not mushy. If you are using leftover lentils of any sort, bring to room temperature.

Whisk 2 of the eggs and add to the lentils along with the breadcrumbs, green onion, chopped herbs, parmesan, 1/2 teaspoon salt and black pepper. Stir to combine- I started with a wooden spoon and then switched to my hands to really get everything combined. I also had to add some extra breadcrumbs but you will be able to decide if you need more or not while you are mixing. Take about 1/4 cup of mixture, roll into balls and then gently flatten the ball slightly to form the cakes.

Coat the bottom of a large skillet with olive oil (or oil of your choice) and heat until you see ripples in the oil. Once the oil is hot enough, turn the heat down to medium and start cooking patties- about three minutes on each side or until golden brown. If you want to focus on just cooking these instead of making them at the same time as the poached eggs, you can make these first and keep them warm in the oven!Β 

While the oil is heating, bring about 5 inches of water to a boil in a sauce pan and add a splash of vinegar (most suggest white wine vinegar but I didn’t have any so I used cider vinegar). Crack your eggs into a bowl to make cooking them easier. Stir the water vigorously until you create a whirlpool affect. Add your eggs to the swirling water and turn down the heat so it is at a gentle boil. The whites will begin to wrap around the yolks, and at this point, time the eggs to cook for 2-3 minutes. Gently remove the eggs from the water with a slotted spoon and let rest on a paper towel.

Remove the lentil cakes from the oven or pan and top with the poached egg. Finish with a touch of salt and freshly ground pepper.

ImageImageImageImage

6 thoughts on “lentil cakes with poached eggs

  1. Oh my goodness, I just love your blog! I have to try and make this delicious looking dish. I think it would make me quite happy! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

